Archive and delete screens in an InVision V7 prototype
  • 05 Jan 2023
  • 3 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Archive and delete screens in an InVision V7 prototype

  • Dark
    Light

Article summary

This article provides answers for InVision V7. If you're on InVision V6, read this article instead. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

Sometimes you may need to remove screens from your prototype. Depending on your needs, you can either archive or delete screens.

Archiving vs deleting

Archiving a screen removes it from your prototype. However, you can restore it at any time. Restoring a screen restores any comments or hotspots that were on it.

For a hotspot to work properly, both the source screen and the destination screen must be unarchived. If the destination screen remains archived, the hotspot on the source screen won't work.

Deleting a screen permanently removes that screen—and any of its comments or hotspots—from your prototype. This action can't be undone.

Archive screens

You can archive individual screens, or you can archive multiple screens at once.

Archive a single screen

To archive a single screen:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype.
  2. Hover over a screen and select ••• More.
  3. Click Archive.
  4. To confirm, click Yes, Archive.

Archive multiple screens

To archive multiple screens:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype.
  2. Hover over a screen and, at the top left, check the circle. Repeat this step for each screen you want to archive. To select multiple screens in a row, select the first one, hold Shift, and select the last screen in the series.
    If you want to archive all screens, select at least one screen, navigate to the bottom toolbar, and click Select all.
  3. In the bottom toolbar, select ••• More, then click Archive.

Restore archived screens

At any time, you can restore an archived screen back to your prototype. This will also restore any hotspots or comments on those screens.

Restore a single screen

To restore a single screen:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype.
  2. Near the top right of the page, ••• More  > View archived screens.
  3. Hover over a screen and click Restore.

When you click the X to return to the screens overview page, you will notice that the screen now appears in a new section titled Restored Screens. You can delete the section or re-order the screen as needed.

Restore multiple screens

To restore multiple archived screens:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype.
  2. Near the top right of the page, click ••• More > View archived screens.
  3. Click, hold, and drag over all the screens you wish to restore. If you wish to restore several rows that aren't adjacent, hold Shift while you click, hold, and drag over the additional rows.
    If you want to restore all screens, select at least one screen, navigate to the bottom, and click Select all.
  4. In the bottom toolbar, click ••• More > Restore.

Again, when you return to the screens overview page, you will notice that the screens now appear in a new section titled Restored Screens. You can delete the section or re-order the screens as needed.

Delete screens

You can delete individual screens, or you can delete multiple screens at once. Remember that deleting screens is permanent and can't be undone.

Delete a single screen

To delete a single screen:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype.
  2. Hover over a screen and, at the top right, select ••• More.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. To confirm, click Yes, Delete.

Delete multiple screens

To delete multiple screens from your document:

  1. Sign in to InVision V7 and open your prototype. 
  2. Hover over a screen you want to delete and, at the top left, check the circle. Repeat this step for each screen you want to delete. To select multiple screens in a row, select the first one, hold Shift, and select the last screen in the series.
    If you want to delete all screens, select at least one screen, navigate to the bottom toolbar, and click Select all.
  3. In the bottom toolbar, select ••• More, and then click Delete.
  4. To confirm, click the Delete button.

Was this article helpful?