Skip to main content
InVision Support Home Page

Transferring an account

This article applies specifically to InVision V6 users who are not on an Enterprise plan. If you're using InVision Enterprise, learn how to hand off your account.

If you're on InVision V7, learn how to make someone an owner. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

Sometimes, it may be necessary to transfer ownership of an account. This article walks through the transfer process and its limitations.

Before you start

An email address can be the owner of only one InVision account (unless you're on an Enterprise plan or using InVision V7). Therefore, it's important that the email address you're transferring ownership to is not already an InVision account owner. 

If the intended owner already has an InVision account associated with their email address, they will need to do one of three things:

  • Provide you with a different email address
  • Change the email address for their existing account
  • Delete their existing account
    If the new owner has prototypes in their existing account they want to keep, they can always transfer those prototypes to your account before you transfer ownership. That way, all the prototypes are consolidated before they delete their existing account.

Transferring an account

When transferring ownership of a paid account, the account will remain on the same plan and will keep the same billing details. You'll need to manually update billing.

To transfer account ownership:

  1. Sign in to your InVision account.
  2. At the top right, click your name, and then click View Profile.
  3. On the Profile tab, enter the intended owner's email address in the Email field.
  4. In the Confirm Password field that appears, enter your password.
  5. Click Update Settings.

The intended owner will receive an email asking them to confirm their email address. The intended owner must click the link, but they will be required to sign in with the original account owner's email address and password (i.e., your InVision credentials).

After doing so, the email address will be updated, and the new owner can reset the password as needed.

Was this article helpful?

Still have a question?

Get help