Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


Managing users in DSM

Follow

With Design System Manager (DSM), you have varying degrees of control over who can access your organization and design system. This article explains how to add, remove, and edit users at both the organization and system level.

Some user roles are limited to the DSM Enterprise plan. For a thorough explanation of available roles and permissions at both the organization and system level, check out this guide: Roles and Permissions in DSM

Inviting users to the organization

Only DSM admins can invite users to the organization.

To invite users to your DSM organization:

  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Click your profile icon, and then click Manage people.
  3. In the Invite collaborators field, type the email address for the person you want to add.
    If you are on an InVision Enterprise plan or using InVision V7, the person must already be a member of your InVision team.
  4. If you're on the DSM Enterprise plan, select a role for the user (Viewer, Editor, or Admin). If you’re using DSM Free, the role is locked to Admin.
  5. Click Invite.

The user will appear as Pending until they accept the invite.

Inviting users to the DSM organization

Removing users from the organization

Only DSM admins can remove users from an organization.

To remove a user from the DSM organization:

  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Click your profile icon, and then click Manage people.
  3. Next to the user's name, click the drop-down and select Remove.
  4. Click Delete.
Remove member from the DSM organization

Changing user roles in the organization

If you are on the DSM Enterprise plan, you can change an organization user's role at any time.

Only DSM admins can change an organization user's role.
  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Click your profile icon, and then click Manage people.
  3. Next to the user's name, click the drop-down and select the appropriate role.
Change DSM organization user role

Adding users to a design system

Any admin or editor can invite other DSM organization users to a design system.

To add users to a DSM design system:

  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Open your design system and click the Share button.
  3. In the share dialog, enter the name of the person you want to add.
    The person must first be part of the DSM organization.
  4. If you're an admin on the DSM Enterprise plan, select a role for the user (Viewer, Editor, or Admin).
    If you're an editor on the DSM Enterprise plan, you can't change the user's role; they are added to the design system with the same permissions they have at the organization level. If you’re using DSM Free, the role is locked to Admin.
  5. Click Invite.
Add user to design system

Removing users from a design system

Only DSM admins can remove a user from the design system.

To remove users from a DSM design system:

  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Open a design system and click the Share button.
  3. Next to the user's name, click the drop-down and select Remove.
Remove user from a design system

Changing user roles in a design system

If you are a design system admin on the DSM Enterprise plan, you can change a user's role at any time.

You cannot downgrade a user's permissions. For example, organization admins will retain admin privileges at the system level. To learn more, check out the DSM roles and permissions.

To change a user's role:

  1. Sign in to the DSM website.
  2. Open a design system and click the Share button.
  3. Next to the user's name, click the drop-down and select the appropriate role.
Change user roles in the design system.gif

Was this article helpful?

Still have a question?

Contact Us