×

I don't understand how editing versions works in DSM

I've read the documentation on versioning (https://support.invisionapp.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005750383) but I don't understand this "Shared Draft" thing, there's no mention of it in the doc.

This is the only "version" I can edit. Is the intention that the "Shared Draft" is always up to date (because its the only editable one,) and we create new versions based off that?

What if I made a mistake and wanted to revert to a previous version, then edit from there? Is it possible to "unlock" a version so I can make updates, then publish a new version based off that? Or do I just need to be super careful with the "Shared Draft" version?

0

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

  • Avatar
    Shaina Torgerson

    Hi Kelly,

    Thank you very much for writing in about DSM shared drafts, and for checking out our Help Center to try to find some answers! In this Help Center article we go into detail about the flexibility of the shared draft depending on what plan you are on:

    | When using DSM Free, your library exists as a shared draft that will update automatically any time you make a change. This draft is available to all collaborators you’ve invited to your library. Warning: There is no way to roll back to a previous version of a library on DSM Free.

    | With DSM Enterprise, you have access to version control. This allows you to work in a shared draft until you’re ready to publish. After you’ve published, you can always roll back to a previously published version.

    Additionally, when updates are made to the shared draft without releasing an official version, the updates get reflected immediately for everyone who’s working with the shared draft.

    Please let me know if you have any outstanding questions. Hope this helps!

    Have a wonderful day,

    Shaina

    0
  • Avatar
    Kelly Knowles

    Thank you for your help!

    I have DSM Enterprise so I can roll back to previously published versions, but I can't edit them. That's where my confusion came from, they seem to be read-only (I am an editor, I'm the one who published the versions.) I don't have the little (+) icon at the bottom right corner of the DSM window.

    If I needed to roll back to a previous version, then build a new version based on that, how could I make that version editable?

    0
  • Avatar
    Shaina Torgerson

    Hi Kelly,

    Of course! Glad that explanation helped.

    If at any time you need to return to the version history while in the DSM web view, navigate to the top right of your library's main page and click the version history icon as highlighted below.

    version-history.png

    Let me know if you're able to revert back to a previous version by using the option detailed above. Please also review this video in the DSM Learn Hub which details how you can navigate between different versions of your DSM Library.

    If you are still having issues, please provide a screenshot or screencast displaying the issues you're facing.

    Look forward to hearing from you,

    Shaina

    0
  • Avatar
    Kelly Knowles

    Sounds like editing versions isn't an option then? It just feels like versions are dead ends and I'm paranoid. 

    Forgive me for being hypothetical, I want to learn how this works before I inevitably screw something up and try to learn in a panic. :P

    Lets say I release v1.0 of my library:

     

    Then lets say I (or another editor on my team) goes back into the Shared Draft to make updates, but makes some mistakes, like deleting a type style and changing the colors:

     

    Of course I can switch to the released version 1.0:

     

    BUT I cannot build any new versions based on this. There is no (+) icon in the bottom right corner. I know that this is a live/released version, so I wouldn't want it changing on people who are in the middle of using it. But is there any way I could branch this version into a new one? Or apply this state to the Shared Draft so I can edit it?

    How would I fix the mistakes I made in Shared Draft and move on from the correct state (v1.0) and continue to release new versions based on the correct state? Other than manually fixing each text style in Shared Draft, which seems to defeat the purpose of versioning.

    0
  • Avatar
    Shaina Torgerson

    Hi Kelly,

    I appreciate you taking the time to provide that detailed explanation. I also think that it's awesome that you're investigating this before getting into your project! So please don't apologize for being hypothetical and doing your "homework". 

    You are correct in your finding that you are unable to edit older versions the way that they currently stand. However, if you go to your Version History in the DSM web view (as seen below), click the three dot menu next to one of your previous versions and choose to Revert to this Version, that version will become the Shared Draft. That Shared Draft will then become an editable copy of the version you selected. This should serve as an adequate solution for the type of behavior you're looking for.

    Since the Shared Draft is a living library, you can fix any mistakes you might make before publishing a new version. Note that any previous changes that you made to the Shared Draft before reverting to a previous version will be lost.

    Please let me know if this all makes sense, and answers the questions you were curious about.

    Have a wonderful day,

    Shaina

    1
  • Avatar
    Kelly Knowles

    Aha, that was the missing piece of the puzzle! Thanks so much for your continued help :D

    0
  • Avatar
    Shaina Torgerson

    Of course, Kelly! So glad that helped :)

    0