Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


InVision ambassador ambassador
Naresh Donde

Copy / Paste Problem

Copy / paste options not working. Even if I press "Alt" or slelect copy and paste options from menu bar and drag the object it is not duplicating. It suddenly stop working. I don know what to do. And my project stuck due to this.

Please send me some solution.

This post is associated with a known feature request: [[problemTicketSubject]]. Let our Product team know that you’re interested in this feature.

Sign in to add your vote

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about making our product better. We’ve let our Product team know that you’re interested in this feature so they can factor that into their product strategy.

comments

Sort by

official comment

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador Edited
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Sarah,

Thanks for attempting the Studio update and retesting. Sorry to hear that you're still running into these issues! 

I would like for our Support team to dive deeper into this issue with you, and will be opening a ticket on your behalf. Please look for a message from them soon.

I apologize for any inconvenience that this is causing for you.

Thanks for your patience,

Shaina

If anyone else is experiencing this issue, please contact our Support team directly here for the speediest resolution.


Lala Galindo
InVision ambassador Lala Galindo , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Naresh,

Can you confirm what Studio version you have installed?  If you are on Studio version is 0.90.20, please try updating Studio to version 0.90.30. Once you have done so, can you please let us know if you are still encountering this issue?

Look forward to hearing from you and helping out!

Lala

0

Naresh Donde
InVision ambassador Naresh Donde , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Lala,

Thanks for your reply.

I have checked with version and it is 0.90.30 only. I am facing this issue in one of my project file. If I create a new one then everything is working fine. I am frustrated because I couldn't figure out what I have done wrong. I reinstalled and tried too, but still that problem is not resolved. I have done lot of screens in that particular file. Lastly I tried "Cut" and "paste" in new file. The problem resolved for now with this solution.

If you want I can send that file (which is having problem) to you and you can check it at your end. Just let me know how I can send it to you.

 

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Naresh,

Thank you for checking into your Studio version. Sorry to hear that you are still encountering this issue with the latest release of Studio.

I would like for our Support team to take a closer look at this for you. I will open a ticket on your behalf with our Support team where you can send your affected files, and they can troubleshoot further with you. Please look for a message soon.

We appreciate your patience, and apologize for any inconvenience this may be causing for you.

Have a great day,

Shaina

0

Sarah McDermott
InVision ambassador Sarah McDermott , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

I'm also having this issue. Opened a small sketch file onto a fresh update of studio (updated to 0.91.10 on June 7, 2018) and can't duplicate, copy, or paste anything in that file. Also can't copy an element from the first file into a brand new Studio file.

 

Copying the same element from Sketch and pasting into a new Studio file removes all styling and vectors (related to https://support.invisionapp.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360008711871-Can-t-copy-and-paste-from-SketchApp-to-Studio-neither-open-sketch-file-with-Studio-), so I can't rely on that as a work-around.

2

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Sarah,

So sorry to hear that you're also running into this issue. We've actually recently released a new version of Studio, 0.91.20. Can you please try updating to the latest version and let me know if you're still running into this issue?

Look forward to hearing from you,

Shaina

0

Sarah McDermott
InVision ambassador Sarah McDermott , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Still having the related issues. It seems like it won't allow me to copy & paste groups (which includes artboards). It also won't allow me to copy and paste components *except* for the first instance of a component; either that or it is having trouble understanding how to duplicate nested overrides in complex symbols. The basic version of a symbol copies fine, but trying to duplicate a version of that symbol with an icon changed (for example), it breaks.

0

Sabrina Ramos
InVision ambassador Sabrina Ramos , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi All,

I'm also having this issue. I can't copy, paste, or duplicate anything in my Studio file. Even when I create a brand new object. I've tried updating to the newest version, quitting out and starting up again, etc.

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Sabrina,

Sorry to hear that! Thank you for doing some troubleshooting of your own.

I will open a ticket on your behalf with our Support team so that they can investigate further. Please look for a message from them soon.

I apologize for any inconvenience here! Thanks for reaching out and reporting your issue.

Best,

Shaina

0

Alisa Sasaki
InVision ambassador Alisa Sasaki , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi I'm also having the same problem in 0.92.10 version.

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Alisa,

So sorry to hear that you're also running into these issues! It appears as if this is a situation that is best troubleshooted by our Support team.

I will open a ticket on your behalf so that our Support team can gather more information from you. Please look for a message from them soon.

Thanks,

Shaina

0

Anastasiya Shekhtman
InVision ambassador Anastasiya Shekhtman , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

I'm having the same problem. Any solutions??

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Anastasiya,

So sorry to hear that you're also running into this issue. So I can take a closer look into this for you, could you please provide me with the answers to the below questions: 

     1. What version of Studio are you using?
     2. Are you creating the file in another product first and then using Studio?
     3. Can you send over a screenshot of your "About this Mac"?
     4. Is this happening with all files?

Once I have those details, I’ll be in a better position to troubleshoot this for you, or get our Support team involved.

Cheers,

Shaina

0

Anastasiya Shekhtman
InVision ambassador Anastasiya Shekhtman , ambassador Edited
Comment actions Permalink

I'm on 0.92.10. I'm just trying to copy and paste layers that I have had no issue copying and pasting in the past, and suddenly it does not work. It's happening with the main file I'm working with, but even if I start a new file and paste a layer from it to the fresh file, it doesn't paste.

 

 

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Anastasiya,

That is truly odd! Thank you very much for providing that information. Since you are on the latest version of Studio, and a new Mac, I would like for our Support team to do some further troubleshooting with you.

I will be opening a ticket on your behalf with our Support team. Please look for a message from them soon.

Best,

Shaina

0

Dmitriy
InVision ambassador Dmitriy , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hello, dear inVision team!

 

Same issue here. :(  

MacOS version as above , Studio V0.92.10, files were created in Studio initially.

Copy/past works fine when I start new project, but for the files created previously it's kinda "locked".

 

 

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Dmitriy,

So sorry to hear that you're also running into this issue. As mentioned above, if you're also experiencing this issue, please contact our Support team directly here for the speediest resolution.

Please be sure to provide your version numbers, screenshots of the issues, and any other necessary information.

Thank you,

Shaina

0

Oliver
InVision ambassador Oliver , ambassador Edited
Comment actions Permalink

Hello i have the problem when trying to copy-paste from Sketch to InVision and even from InVision to Invision. Can you help me out please ?

When i copy-paste absolutely nothing happens ... 

Thanks in advance




0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Oliver,

So sorry to hear that you're running into issues when attempting to copy and paste. Thank you very much for providing your Studio version and "About this Mac" overview. 

Since you are on the most up-to-date version of Studio, I would like for our Support team to do some further troubleshooting. I will open a ticket on your behalf with our Support team requesting additional information. Please look for this message soon.

Thanks,

Shaina

0

Fraco Ramirez
InVision ambassador Fraco Ramirez , ambassador Edited
Comment actions Permalink

Hi everyone,

rebumping to share my similar experience. I can't copy or duplicate files in the one project I'm working on. I tried copying the artboards to a new project and it didn't work. The only thing that will copy sometimes is the first object or component copied when launching the project (any object/comp), but it will only paste it in another project. The project however does bring draggable objects from outside InVision Studio, like dragging an image from the Finder.

I'm in an iMac with macOS High Sierra (10.13.6) with the latest InVision Studio (1.28.1)

Please any solution to this is dearly and deeply thanked as it's a commissioned work

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Fraco,

Thanks for reaching out here in Community to report this issue. Sorry to hear that copy/paste isn't working properly for you in the latest version of Studio. In order to determine what might be causing this, can you please provide some additional information?:

  1. To confirm, are you having issues with copying and pasting from Sketch, or within Studio?
  2. If you're having troubles copying from Sketch, can you please provide your Sketch version number?
  3. Can you please provide a screenshot/screencast of the problem that is happening with your Copy and Paste, so we can see what you are seeing? 

Look forward to hearing from you,

Shaina

0

Fraco Ramirez
InVision ambassador Fraco Ramirez , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Shaina and thanks for the fast reply.

The issue is within Studio.

Here's a screenshot, and again thank you!

0

Fraco Ramirez
InVision ambassador Fraco Ramirez , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

It seems I'm able to cut multiple objects within an artboard (from that project), but when I undo (Cmd-Z) it brings back some of the objects. Not sure if its helpful, but could dig deeper

0

Shaina Torgerson
InVision ambassador Shaina Torgerson , ambassador
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks for providing that extra information, Fraco! At this point, I'd like for our Support team to take a closer look at this for you. They will be able to test directly with you file to determine what might be the source of this issue.

I will open a ticket on your behalf including all of the details that you've provided here. Please look out for an email from one of our Support agents soon.

Thanks again for working with us,

Shaina

0

join the conversation

to comment, sign up or sign in.