This article applies specifically to Enterprise customers who are currently on or have updated from InVision V6. Not sure which version you're on? Find out now.
When updating from the previous version of InVision (V6) to the new InVision (V7), any teams you created in V6 will be converted to user groups in V7.
Some V6 teams may be split into two separate user groups in V7. This is because in V7, editing permissions are granted at the document level. In V6, editing permissions were based on your role in the organization. By creating two distinct groups based on previous V6 user roles, we can ensure that no users unintentionally lose or gain document editing permissions.
For example, let’s say you created a V6 team called “Design Team” that contained admins, managers, contributors, and reviewers. When that team is converted to a user group in V7, it will be split into two user groups: “Design Team - Contributors” and “Design Team - Reviewers.”
The “Contributors” group will contain any V6 users that had edit access to documents—admins, managers, and contributors. The “Reviewers” group will contain only those users who did not have permission to edit documents in V6.
Preparing V6 teams for V7
If you’re still using V6, you can prepare for V7 by making sure your existing teams are organized by user role. Place reviewers in one team and document editors (admins, managers, and contributors) in another team. This will prevent your existing teams from automatically being split into multiple user groups in V7.
Consolidating groups in V7
If you want to consolidate the newly created groups in V7, you can do so by manually adding all users into one of the groups. After the users are in one group, you can delete the unnecessary group and rename the other.