Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


Getting Set Up in InVision V7

This article provides answers for InVision V7. Not sure which version you're using? Find out.

For a walkthrough of how to configure and create your first projects—now called documents—in InVision V7, check out our Intro to InVision V7 guide instead.

This guide provides instructions for a few common getting-started tasks and questions our Customer Success Managers often hear from people who have recently updated from InVision V6 to InVision V7. First, however, we recommend starting with a guided video tour of the new InVision, led by one of our experienced product experts:

Signing in

Once you receive an email confirmation that the transition to InVision V7 is complete, you and your team members can access your new InVision V7 team account.

To sign in to InVision V7:

  1. Click login.invisionapp.com.
  2. Enter the email address and password for your Team or Enterprise account.
    These should be the same account credentials you used for InVision V6.
  3. Next to the team you want to use, click Select.
    You can also select your Personal account instead.
invision-v7-sign-in-select-team.gif

You also have the option to sign in to your team by navigating directly to your unique InVision team domain: your-team-name.invisionapp.com.

Team sharing settings

The InVision Settings page, showing the Team Sharing Settings as selected.

In InVision V7, you’ll find that the Let members invite people from within documents and spaces setting is turned off by default. This is to prevent team members from unintentionally creating new paid Enterprise licenses by inviting new users to documents or spaces.

If you’re an owner or admin of an InVision V7 team or Enterprise and would like to change this setting:

  1. Sign in to your InVision team or Enterprise here: your-team-name.invisionapp.com
  2. In the lower-left corner, click the expandable team tray.
  3. Click Settings, and then click Team sharing settings.
  4. Uncheck the toggle and click Update.

Document visibility

If you updated from InVision V6 to V7, you may notice a space called Migrated Documents. This space is invite-only, but by default, anyone who had access to view all documents in InVision V6 will have access to the Migrated Documents space in InVision V7. To learn more, check out this article: InVision V7: What is the Migrated Documents space?
Sample Migrated Documents space in V7

Consider creating spaces to ensure stakeholders maintain access to project-specific and/or team documents moving forward. For more information, check out the following articles on the Spaces feature:

User groups

When updating to the new InVision, any teams you created in V6 will be converted to user groups. User groups allow you to more easily manage document access for a large number of users. 

It's important to note that there's a difference in permissions for V6 teams and V7 user groups. To learn how this difference can impact your groups, check out this article on converting teams to groups.

The more you know

We’re here for you every step of the way! In addition to the rest of this Getting Started Guide, lean on these resources to level up your InVision V7 know-how.


Learn something new

Getting Started Guides