Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


InVision V7 Roles

The content below provides answers for InVision V7. If you’re on InVision V6, read this article instead. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

There are five user roles for teams in InVision V7:

  • Owner
  • Admin
  • Manager
  • Team Member
  • External Guest
4._Roles.png

Depending on your InVision plan, you may also see the term active user on your invoices. To learn more about who qualifies as an active user—and therefore impacts billing—see this article: InVision V7: What are active users?

When assigning roles, note that permission settings are managed primarily at the document level. Users—including owners, admins, and managers—do not automatically have access to every document created for a team. To learn more about setting document permissions, check out this article: InVision V7: What are the permission settings for documents?

Roles comparison

The following table should help you get familiar with the available user roles and their respective permissions:

Action

Owner

Admin

Manager

Team Member

External Guest

Principle team settings
Manage team and subdomain Yes No No No No
Delete team Yes (contact Support) No No No No
Administrative team settings
Manage security settings Yes Yes No No No
Manage authentication settings Yes Yes No No No
Manage team subscription and billing information Yes Yes No No No
Manage team sharing settings Yes Yes No No No
People settings
Create, manage, and remove user groups Yes Yes Yes No No
Change user roles or remove users Yes Yes Yes No No
Invite new users to the team Yes Yes Yes Yes* No
See who else is on the team Yes Yes Yes Yes Sometimes**
Document and Space settings
         
Create and manage their own documents and spaces Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Access documents and spaces they have been added to Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

*Team members can invite new users, but this is dependent on your team sharing settings.

**Guests can only see other users on the same documents and spaces.

Owner

Each team has only one owner—the person who created the account for the team.

Along with being the only person who can delete the team account, the owner can manage the following:

  • Team settings—including team name, domain, icon, and sharing settings
  • Security and authentication settings—including passwords, time out requirements, and SSO
  • Billing information
  • Membership
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting admins

The owner cannot do the following:

  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

It's not possible for another user to demote the owner to a role with lower access; however, the owner can transfer the role to a different person on the team.

Admin

You can assign multiple admins for your team. Like the owner, admins can manage the following:

  • Team settings—including the team icon and sharing settings
  • Security and authentication settings—including passwords, time out requirements, and SSO
  • Billing information
  • Membership
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting other admins

Admins cannot do the following:

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the owner can delete the account.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the owner can change these.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

Managers

The manager role can manage team membership as well as individual user roles. Teams can have multiple managers.

Here's a closer look at what managers can manage for your InVision V7 team:

  • Membership—including assigning or changing the role of other managers
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting other managers
  • See who else is on the team

Managers cannot do the following: 

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the owner can delete the account.
  • Manage security and authentication settings: Only the owner and admins can change these.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the owner and admins can change these.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

Team members

Intended for designers, developers, product managers, and other core contributors on the team, InVision V7 team members can see all spaces and documents made available to the team (as well as the spaces and documents they are specifically invited to join). You can have multiple team members on your team, and we typically find that the majority of users on a team are assigned the team member role.

Here's a closer look at what team members can do as part of your InVision V7 team:

  • Manage documents and spaces they create: No other role, including the owner, can edit the settings for documents and spaces created by another team member.
  • See who else is on the team
  • Share document links: Unless restricted by document sharing settings, members can share document links as wanted.

Team members cannot do the following: 

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the owner can delete the account.
  • Manage security and authentication settings: Only the owner and admins can change these.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the owner and admins can change these.
  • Manage membership, user groups, and user roles: Only the owner, admins, and managers can do this.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

External guests

The external guest role is intended for contractors, clients, or other collaborators who you don’t want to have full visibility into the team.

External guests' permissions are limited to the following:

  • View documents they've been added to—including prototypes, boards, and freehands
  • View spaces they've been added to

External guests cannot access spaces or projects they have not been invited to join, nor can external guests invite new users to join the team. You can have multiple external guests for your team.

When searching for users on your team via the People tab, you can filter for specific user roles by clicking the Roles drop-down (set to All roles by default) and selecting the appropriate role type.


Learn something new

Getting Started Guides