Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


InVision Cloud V7: InVision Roles

The content below provides answers for InVision Cloud V7. If you’re on V6 of InVision, read this article instead. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

There are five user roles for teams in InVision Cloud V7:

  • Primary owner
  • Owner
  • Admin—exclusive to Enterprise teams
  • Member
  • Guest

Depending on your InVision plan, you may also see the term active user on your invoices. To learn more about who qualifies as an active user—and therefore impacts billing—see this article: InVision Cloud V7: What are active users?

When assigning roles, note that permission settings are managed primarily at the document level. Users—including primary owners, owners, and admins—do not automatically have access to every document created for a team. To learn more about setting document permissions, check out this article: InVision Cloud V7: What are the permission settings for documents?

Roles comparison

The following table should help you get familiar with the available user roles and their respective permissions:

Action

Primary Owner

Owner

Admin*

Member

Guest

Team Settings
Manage team and subdomain invision-table-checkmark.png No No No No
Delete team invision-table-checkmark.png No No No No
Manage security settings invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No No No
Manage authentication settings invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No No No
Manage team subscription and billing information invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No No No
People
Manage users (invite, remove, promote, de-mote) invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No No
Manage user groups invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No No
See who else is on the team invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No
Invite users to a team unless restricted by the team sharing setting invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No
Documents and Spaces
         
Share document links unless restricted by document share settings invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No
Create and manage their own documents and spaces invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png No
Access documents and spaces they have been added to invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png invision-table-checkmark.png

*Remember that the admin role is available for Enterprise teams only.

Primary owner

Each team has only one primary owner—the person who created the account for the team.

Along with being the only person who can delete the team account, the primary owner can manage the following:

  • Team settings—including team name, domain, icon, and sharing settings
  • Security and authentication settings—including passwords, time out requirements, and SSO
  • Billing information
  • Membership
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting other owners

The primary owner cannot do the following:

  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

It's not possible to demote the primary owner to a role with lower access; however, the primary owner can transfer the role to a different person on the team.

Owner

You can assign multiple owners for your team. Like the primary owner, owners can manage the following:

  • Team settings—including the team icon and sharing settings
  • Security and authentication settings—including passwords, time out requirements, and SSO
  • Billing information
  • Membership
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting other owners

Owners cannot do the following:

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the primary owner can delete the account.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the primary owner can change these.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

Admin (Enterprise only)

Exclusive to Enterprise plans, the admin role can manage team membership as well as individual user roles. Enterprise teams can have multiple admins.

Here's a closer look at what admins can manage for you Cloud V7 Enterprise team:

  • Membership—including assigning or changing the role of owners
  • User groups
  • Individual user roles—including promoting or demoting other owners
  • See who else is on the team

Admins cannot do the following: 

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the primary owner can delete the account.
  • Manage security and authentication settings: Only the primary owner and owners can change these.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the primary owner and owners can change these.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

Member

Intended for designers, developers, product managers, and other core contributors on the team, Cloud V7 team members can see all spaces and documents made available to the team (as well as the spaces and documents they are specifically invited to join). You can have multiple members on your team, and we typically find that the majority of users on a team are assigned the member role.

Here's a closer look at what members can do as part of your Cloud V7 team:

  • Manage documents and spaces they create: No other role, including the primary owner, can edit the settings for documents and spaces created by another team member.
  • See who else is on the team
  • Share document links: Unless restricted by document sharing settings, members can share document links as wanted.

Members cannot do the following: 

  • Delete the entire Enterprise team account: Only the primary owner can delete the account.
  • Manage security and authentication settings: Only the primary owner and owners can change these.
  • Manage the team name and subdomain: Only the primary owner and owners can change these.
  • Manage membership, user groups, and user roles: Only the primary owner, owners, and admins can do this.
  • Delete documents someone else created: Only the person who created a document can delete it.
  • Delete spaces someone else created: Only the person who created a space can delete it.
  • View every document: Only people who have been invited to a given document can view it.

Guest

The guest role is intended for contractors, clients, or other collaborators who you don’t want to have full visibility into the team.

Guests' permissions are limited to the following:

  • View documents they've been added to—including prototypes, boards, and freehands
  • View spaces they've been added to

Guests cannot access spaces or projects they have not been invited to, nor can guests invite new users to join the team. You can have multiple guests for your team.

When searching for users on your team via the People tab, you can filter for specific user roles by clicking the Roles drop-down (set to All roles by default) and selecting the appropriate role type.


Learn something new

Getting Started Guides