Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


Configuring InVision V7 team sharing settings

Follow

This article provides answers for InVision V7 only. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

If you're an owner or admin of an InVision V7 team, you can control how team members share with people inside and outside your team.

Setting team sharing settings

To set your team sharing settings:

  1. Sign in to your account here: your-team-name.invisionapp.com
  2. In the lower-left corner, click the expandable team tray, and then click Settings.
  3. Click Team sharing settings.
  4. Edit the settings as wanted, and then click Update.

Understanding team sharing settings

After you navigate to your team sharing settings following the steps above, you can optionally change the settings described in the following subsections.

Let the team make document links open to anyone

If this setting is toggled on, anyone on the team (excluding people with the guest role) can manage the sharing settings for documents. This access lets people change the default document sharing settings—described in detail in the next section. Opening document links to anyone is a good way to share documents with people who aren't yet on the team, as long as you want them to have the option to join.

If this setting is toggled off, only people who have the document link and belong to your team can access your documents. Preventing people on your team from making document links open to anyone is a good way to prevent individuals who aren't on the team from seeing your documents. 

Should you later decide you want to toggle the Let the team make document links open to anyone setting back on, someone will need to change the Who can open this document setting in the sharing settings of each (individual) document. 

Set the default document setting

Remember that the guest role is a paid, limited-visibility license that is ideal for contractors and clients. Individuals with this role can only interact with documents and spaces that they are explicitly invited to, while all other team documents are kept out of view. Therefore, the global Set the default document setting is automatically set to Team members with the link unless an owner or admin of the team changes the setting.

This global team sharing setting controls the default setting of document links and is tied directly to the per-prototype setting Who can open this document within the Manage sharing settings modal of each prototype. You can choose whether new prototypes are created with the document link open to Anyone with the link or limited to only Team members with the link.

If you choose Anyone with the link, anonymous users who have a document link can view that document as well as register and join your account with their team role set to guest.

If you choose Team members with the link, only people on your team (excluding guests) who have the document link and are signed in can can access a given document. People who are not signed in to InVision cannot view the documents.

Let members invite people from within documents and spaces

In InVision V7, you’ll find that the Let members invite people from within documents and spaces setting is turned off by default. This is to prevent team members from unintentionally creating new paid Enterprise licenses by inviting new users to documents or spaces.

If this setting is toggled on, all team members (excluding guests) have the ability to invite new people to the team by email address from within a document or space.

If this setting is toggled off, team members cannot invite others by email address within a document or space. Only owners, admins, and managers will be able to invite new people via a document or space or within the Team sharing settings.

Toggling this setting off is a Pro team control feature. Also, note that owners, admins, and managers can still invite new people to the team within team management.

Require passwords for public share links

If this setting is toggled on, all teammates except external guests will be able to generate and use prototype public share links; however, they'll require a password.

Toggling this setting on is an Enterprise team security feature.

If this setting is toggled off, all teammates except external guests will be able to generate and use prototype public share links with or without passwords.


Was this article helpful?

Still have a question?

Contact Us