Skip to main content

Deleting or archiving documents in InVision V7

This article provides answers for InVision V7. If you’re on V6 of InVision, read this article instead. Not sure which version you're using? Find out now.

While only the owner of an InVision V7 document can delete it, the ability to archive and unarchive a V7 document (any prototype, spec, board, or freehand) is based on having editing access to that document, rather than on an individual's user role or on a global team setting. Therefore, in addition to the document owner, anyone the owner has invited to edit the document can archive or unarchive it at any time.

If you want to archive or unarchive a document that you cannot edit, you’ll need to ask the current owner (or someone who has editing rights) to take care of it.

invision-v7-document-editing-permissioins.png

When inviting someone to a V7 document or sharing a document link, selecting the Can edit option also gives the individual permission to archive or unarchive the document if needed; however, only the document owner can permanently delete it.

Archiving a document

Archiving documents is a feature available to InVision Pro and Enterprise customers in InVision V7.

If you need to archive specific screens from a prototype, check out this article instead: Archiving and deleting screens in an InVision V7 prototype

To archive a V7 document:

  1. Open the Documents page (or the space that stores the document you want to archive).
  2. Hover over the document thumbnail to reveal and click the ••• (more) icon in the lower-right corner, and then click Archive.
  3. On the confirmation screen, click the Archive button.
    invision-v7-archive-document.gif

To archive a V7 prototype from its screens overview page:

  1. In the top-right corner, click the ••• (more) menu.
  2. Click Archive prototype.
  3. On the confirmation screen, click Archive again.
    invision-v7-archive-prototype-from-screens-overview.gif

Restoring an archived document

To restore an archived document in InVision V7:

  1. Open the Documents page (or the space that stores the document you want to restore).
  2. Under the Documents heading, click the Archived tab.
  3. Open the document you want to restore.
  4. Click the Restore button.
    invision-v7-restore-archived-prototype.gif

Deleting a document

Because deletion is permanent and cannot be reversed, we recommend that the owner archive any document that you may possibly need to restore later. If the owner decides to delete a document, they cannot restore it later, and neither can InVision. The people the document was previously shared with will not be notified if it is deleted.

To delete a document in InVision V7:

  1. Open the Documents page (or the space that stores the document you want to delete).
  2. Hover over the document thumbnail to reveal and click the ••• (more) icon in the lower-right corner, and then click Delete.
  3. On the confirmation screen, click the Delete button.
    invision-v7-delete-board.gif

To delete a V7 prototype from its screens overview page:

  1. In the top-right corner, click the ••• (more) menu.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. On the confirmation screen, click Delete again.
    invision-cloud-v7-delete-prototype.gif
Was this article helpful?

Still have a question?

Get help