With InVision Enterprise, you have greater control over how your team accesses projects. We allow you to control access by assigning roles to your users, and there are additional permissions you can use to more finely control what each role can do.
Currently, the following roles are available in Enterprise:
- Admins: Have full account access.
- Managers: Can invite members; create teams; create, archive, and delete freehands; and view, edit, archive, and delete all prototypes and boards.
- Contributors: Can create, edit, archive, and delete prototypes and boards on which they are members. They can also create, archive, and delete freehands.
- Reviewers: Can be assigned prototypes and boards to review.
The admin, manager, and contributor roles can modify associated prototypes and boards while the reviewer role cannot make changes to prototypes or boards.
You can have multiple admins and managers managing various teams within your organization.
Note: Anyone with edit access to a prototype or board—contributor, manager, or administrator—is able to archive or delete a prototype or board, as all boards and prototypes are owned by the Enterprise. All roles within the Enterprise have access to Inspect mode as well as to view and edit Workflow for the prototypes they join.
In addition to the default permissions available to each role, you can also modify permissions for each role to fine-tune how those roles work in your organization. You can access these additional permissions by clicking People in the top menu, clicking the ••• link, and clicking Member Permissions as shown below:
In there, you'll see the following list of permissions.
Session (Enterprise Only)
- Enable session timeouts: If enabled, Enterprise members will be signed out of the Enterprise account after inactivity based on the time you set.
- Time before a user is logged out for inactivity: This is set to 1 week by default. Choose from the dropdown menu to set your desired duration.
- Require authentication for share links: If enabled, your share links cannot be anonymously viewed. Instead, anyone who views the share link will need to be a member of your Enterprise organization and will need to sign in before viewing the share link. If enabled, this applies globally and cannot be overridden on individual share links.
- Can invite members to the company: If enabled, managers can add managers, contributors, and reviewers; however, they cannot add admins. If this is disabled, only admins can add users. Even if enabled, only admins can remove users.
- Enable dashboard: If this is enabled, contributors can see the "Dashboard" option in the top menu bar and can see an organization-wide overview of prototype and user activity.
- Can preview and join all company projects: If given this option, contributors can see every project in the account and can join it. Contributors can edit, archive, and delete projects. If the contributor role is not enabled for a particular individual, a member of the prototype would need to invite that individual to collaborate on the prototype before they would be able to see it.
Note: Freehand projects are only visible if the contributor has previously viewed the freehand share link.
- Can view all company members: If off, contributors will not be able to see other members of the Enterprise organization when adding members to a project, when in the People page, or when viewing the member filter on the prototypes page and in the activity feed unless they are on the same team or are already collaborating on a prototype with that user. This is ideal for organizations (e.g. agencies) who might not want contributors on one prototype being able to view the individuals associated with another unrelated prototype.
- Can preview and join all company projects: If given this option, reviewers can see every project in the account and can join it. If this is disabled, a member of the prototype would need to invite them to collaborate before they would be able to see it.
Note: Freehand projects are only visible if the reviewer has previously viewed the freehand share link.
- Can view and create private comments and notes: If disabled, a reviewer will not be able to view existing private comments or notes, nor will they be able to create new ones. This is useful for internal discussions (e.g. discussions with devs about implementation) that may not be relevant to the reviewer.
- Can view prototype assets: If this is enabled, the reviewer will be able to access the assets tab while viewing a prototype.
Note: This setting does not affect assets generated by Inspect. Reviewers can always access Inspect-generated assets.
- Can view activity: When disabled, this prevents a reviewer from seeing the organization-wide activity page or the activity tab within a prototype even for prototypes on which they are members. This permission is meant for organizations that want to be able to perform work in InVision without making a detailed log of that activity available to their clients.
If an Enterprise user clicks a share link for a prototype they're not authorized to view, they can request access.