You can sync your files with InVision Sync or Craft. InVision Sync creates prototype folders on your desktop that you can move your files into, and they will be synchronized with InVision. Craft Sync allows you to sync your artboards from Sketch into InVision with just a few clicks.
To start syncing with InVision Sync
First, download InVision Sync (Mac only). Once it's installed, you'll see an InVision folder in the sidebar in Finder. You'll find it here:
Macintosh HD > Users > your username > InVision.
To start syncing with Craft Sync
See specific instructions for setting up sync with Craft here.
How syncing works
Once you've set up InVision Sync, just create a new prototype on the website, or a new folder inside your InVision folder. Inside there you should see a few automatically created folders:
- Screens: This is where you'll place your prototype screens (PNG, JPG, or GIF)
- Assets: Your assets will be sorted into these folders:
- Source files: PSDs, AIs, Sketch files, etc.
- Images: Exported images ready for development
- Fonts: Any required fonts
- You can create your own subfolders in the Assets folder to sync any other prototype-related files. Note that folders (including subfolders) can’t be nested.
Just drop your files into the right subfolders and InVision Sync will do the rest.
Within Sketch, design artboards as normal. Then, sync your designs with a prototype in Craft Sync with a few clicks.
If your collaborators use InVision sync, prototype folders will automatically appear in their InVision folder, listed under the prototype owner's email address. Collaborators who don't use sync can still access prototypes from the prototype page on the web.
Craft Sync allows you to quickly update your designs to InVision from within Sketch.Collaborators who don't use Craft Sync can still access prototypes from the prototype page on the web.
Some things to note
- You can delete and archive prototypes in InVisionApp.com only.
- If you or a collaborator upload a screen that has the same name as an existing screen, it will replace the existing screen.
- You can add PNGs, JPGs, and GIFs to the Screens folder.
- You can only create custom subfolders in the Assets folder.
- If you delete a screen locally, InVision Sync will not delete that screen from InVision. It will disappear locally but reappear when screens are next synced. At this time, screen deletion is not supported by InVision Sync.