Browser not supported

Sorry, the InVision Help Center does not support Internet Explorer. Please download Microsoft Edge or another modern browser.


Managing Stakeholders

If you're part of an Enterprise plan, please visit our Enterprise guide instead.

Adding and removing collaborators

You can share your prototype by inviting collaborators. All plans are able to add collaborators. Collaborators have the ability to:

  • Edit prototypes
  • Delete screens
  • Replace screens
  • Add/remove hotspots
  • Leave comments on prototypes
  • Access Inspect mode for prototypes
  • Export prototypes to PDF or ZIP file

Collaborators cannot create or delete prototypes. However, if you are on the Team plan and add a collaborator as one of your five team members, that collaborator can now create prototypes. Note that only a Team plan owner can delete prototypes.

To add collaborators:

  1. Sign in to your InVision account and navigate to the Projects page.
  2. Click the desired prototype.
  3. In the top-right corner of the prototype page, click Share.
  4. In the pop-up modal, search for any person(s) or team(s) you want to add, and then click the + icon next to their name/s.
    If the person is not listed, you can invite them by navigating to the bottom of the pop-up modal and entering their email address.
  5. When you're finished adding collaborators, click Send Invite.
If you share a prototype with a new collaborator (i.e., you have to enter their email address), they will need to click the link in the email before viewing the prototype in their account.
add-collaborators.gif

When adding collaborators, the list in the modal will show people in the following order (always A-Z within each group):

  • Teams collaborating
  • Individuals already collaborating
  • Invitees that are collaborating
  • Other teams
  • Other individuals
  • Other invitees

To remove collaborators:

  1. Sign in to your InVision account, and navigate to the Projects page.
  2. Click the desired prototype.
  3. In the top-right corner of the prototype page, click the collaborator's avatar. Alternatively, you can click the Share button.
  4. To remove them, click the check icon (Image_2018-08-27_at_1.06.10_PM.png) next to their name.
  5. Once the check has been removed, click Remove Person.
remove-collaborator.gif

When you remove a collaborator from a prototype (or remove them completely from an account), their comments remain on the prototype.

Creating a public share link

Quickly create a public share link from your main dashboard by hovering over your prototype and clicking Share. Then, click public share link at the bottom of the pop-up modal.

create-public-share-link.gif

People who receive your public share link only have the ability to view, interact with (click through), and leave comments on prototypes via that share link and cannot otherwise see the prototype. They cannot leave comments via the mobile app or via web view from their mobile device at this time.

Link settings

To adjust the default settings for your public share link, click Link Settings at the bottom of the pop-up modal.

Image_2018-08-03_at_8.56.14_AM.png

You will then see a list of default share settings. Keep reading for a description of each setting.

These link settings cannot be changed for existing share links. A new link must be generated for the settings to take effect.
Image_2018-08-03_at_8.57.32_AM.png

To learn more about what each setting does, check out the following table.

Setting

Description

Allow commenting on screens

When toggled on, link viewers can comment on prototype screens.

Allow access to all screens in prototype

When toggled on, link viewers can navigate between screens by using the Left and Right Arrow keys or by clicking the screen drawer icon (screen-drawer-icon.png) at the bottom right of the prototype. When toggled off, link viewers can only navigate between screens via hotspots.

Password Protect

Enabling password protection lets you create a custom password for your prototype. When you send someone a share link, they’ll need to enter the password to view the prototype.

If you are on an Enterprise plan and require authentication for share links, you will not see this setting.

Start the share link at

This setting lets you choose the screen your prototype will start on.

Hotspots enabled

When toggled on, viewers can navigate your screens by clicking any hotspots you've created. When toggled off, viewers can only navigate the prototype by using the Left and Right Arrow keys or by clicking the screen drawer icon (screen-drawer-icon.png) at the bottom right of the prototype.

Prevent hotspot hinting

When toggled on, your hotspots won't flash when someone clicks a prototype screen. This is especially useful when conducting user testing.

Require user identification

When you require user identification, viewers must enter their name and email address to view the prototype (unless they are already signed in to their InVision account).

If you are on an Enterprise plan and require authentication for share links, you will not see this setting.
While there isn't a link setting that lets you share a specific selection of screens, that is an option. To learn more, check out this article: How do I share specific screens only?

Creating and managing a team

For complete instructions on creating a new team and inviting members, check out this article: How do I set up my team?

Removing team members

To remove members from your team, check out this article: How do I remove members from a Team plan?

Encountering project limits

Team members may encounter a project limit if they try to create a prototype or board on their personal account rather than the Team plan. To create a prototype or board on a Team plan, check out this article: How do I create a prototype on a Team plan?

If you create a prototype under the Team plan, you will notice that—rather than you owning the prototype in your personal account—the prototype belongs to the Team plan owner by default. This is to ensure that all members of the team can access the prototype via the Team account.

You can manually transfer prototypes to the team at anytime. The team member will need to enter the team owner’s email address when performing the transfer. For more information, check out this article: How do I transfer my prototype to a Team plan?

To access your team's prototypes or boards, navigate to the Projects tab. Click the My Projects drop-down, and then click the appropriate team.

my-projects-drop-down.gif

Return to your personal projects by clicking the drop-down again and choosing My Projects.


Learn something new

Getting Started Guides